RSS Feed

Chile Rellenos Casserole

Mexican food is one of Mr.Picky’s favorite types of cuisine.  He loves spicy food, not to mention anything with cheese.  My favorite dish to order is chile rellenos, although it is hard to find the way I like it.  Mr.Picky does not like it which makes no sense because it is a mild chile stuffed with cheese.

Almost 10 years ago right after we got married I made it into casserole, although it is not the same thing for me.  Mr.Picky said, “It’s not that bad”.   I have since forgot about the recipe until I came across this recipe Chile Rellenos Casserole | Winner Dinners.  I added the recipe to my meal plan right away.  The chile rellenos casserole I had made before used a verde sauce on top, which I think I prefer but this was very good.  The only adjustment I made was the amount of cheese.  Two pounds of cheese sounded like an awful lot so I reduced it by almost half.

Chile Rellenos CasseroleChile Rellenos Casserole:

  • 3 (7 oz.) cans of whole mild green chiles
  • 1 lb. Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 4 eggs, separate yolks and whites
  • 1 (13 oz.) can evaporated milk
  • 3 Tbs flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 (6 oz.) can tomato paste

Wash chiles, remove seeds and pat dry.

In a 9 x 9″ pan layer 1/2 of chiles, then 1/2 of Monterey jack cheese. Repeat ending on cheese.

Separate eggs.  In a bowl combine yolks, flour, evaporated milk and salt and mix until frothy.

Beat whites separately until soft peak, for 1-2 minutes.  Fold the egg whites into the yolk mixture.

Pour over casserole.  Bake a 300 degrees for 1 hour.

Remove from oven and spread with tomato paste (1/2 a can would do you unless you really like tomato paste) and sprinkle with 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese.

Bake for 30 minutes longer.  Allow to stand 5-10 minutes before serving.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Chili Rellenos is one of my all-time favs… I can’t wait to get home and try this casserole out! I don’t peek everyday or comment often, but I LOVE your blog!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers

