RSS Feed

Cornstarch and Water

Nothing better to pass time on a rainy day is a box of cornstarch?  Yes, I just said corn starch.  My kids love to play in cornstarch in water, I have to say I do too.  Is it a solid or a liquid, play and see  if you can figure out which.

corn starch and water

What you need:

  • A 16 oz. box of corn starch
  • Food Coloring (a few drops of desired color)
  • Water (About 2 cups)
  • A shallow dish (I use a 8×8 inch pan, glass works best)

I add corn starch to a shallow dish and slowly add water about 1/4 cup at a time until it is the consistency I want.  It is hard to mix, so I just use my hands and get dirty. When you apply pressure the mix will feel like a solid, but it will appear as a liquid.  Add a few drops of food coloring and swirl it in.  Once I get it partially mixed I let the kids mix the rest of the color in.  Mix well and play for a few hours.  Don’t try to save this, it will get gross quick.  Also everything washes up just fine, so have fun and try giving the kids different tools or toys to play with in your pan.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

