RSS Feed

7UP Biscuits

Thank you for the recipe 7up Biscuits, Plain Chicken.  These were amazing biscuits, and pleased us all.  I did reduce the butter by half the amount the original recipe calls for.  I didn’t care for how wet with butter the bottoms of the biscuits were.  Once I reduced it, the texture seemed perfect and even throughout without being dry at all.  Mr. Picky loves savory breakfast foods, including biscuits and gravy.  In fact my 4-year-old orders biscuits and gravy at just about every restaurant we eat out at that serves breakfast.

I heard about this recipe from my sister in-law and looked it up.  I have never used Bisquick or bought it but she assured me these biscuits were great.  We are always swapping recipes, her taste is as good as mine.  So I went down and bought the ingredients try this out.  I have used soda in a few other recipes and it always makes things so tender, so what the heck.  We ate these biscuits with sausage gravy, and butter and jam.  These are so easy and I usually have some 7up in the cupboard, so this is our new go to recipe for biscuits.

7UP Biscuits:DSCN0856

  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup 7up or lemon lime soda (even used diet once)
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Mix sour cream into Bisquick, and then add 7up.  The dough will be soft.

Sprinkle a bit of Bisquick on the board and pat out the dough, I make my dough about one inch thick.  I usually cut it into about 6 large biscuits.

I melt my butter right in a glass 8×8 pan in the microwave, and then place my biscuits on top of butter.

Bake 12-15 min. until just golden brown.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. We made these again this morning but had no 7up in the house. We used club soda instead, they turned out the same in texture just a bit less sweet. Just so you know you have a substitute now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

