RSS Feed

Coconut Topping over Brownies

Mr. Picky hates nuts and anything they touch, he is not allergic.  I don’t think I will ever get him over that one.  Although I don’t quite get it, he will eat peanuts.  And at one point he told me someone gave him a white chocolate (the only kind of chocolate he likes) macadamia nut cookie and he actually said macadamia nuts aren’t to bad.  Thinking he tried those, I bagged him to eat a cashew and that was a big “no go” on those.  He continues to hate them and I continue to love nuts especially if I am making chocolate anything.  So ten years into our relationship I decided he can just not eat any, if he doesn’t want to try it.  Half the time he doesn’t want anything with chocolate anyway, although Mr.Picky does like coconut.  So I gamble and put nuts in my dessert where I want to.  My theory being if he wants to try it bad enough he will taste it nuts and all.

For the last week I have been craving coconut topping with nuts.  About 4 months ago, I made German chocolate cookies. Since then I have been dreaming of how easy it is to make coconut topping and how good it tastes.  I have to say before that I had never made homemade coconut topping, but love it.  We are not big chocolate eaters at our house, but in my eyes chocolate and coconut just go together hand in hand.  So after a week of craving and eyeing desserts in the bakery at the store, I broke down and made some coconut topping.  But I couldn’t just eat it with a spoon (OK, I could have) so I cheated and make a box of brownies.  I did use applesauce instead of oil, and make them in a large pan so they would be thin and spread my delicious topping all over.  Feel free to use whatever brownie or cake recipe is your favorite.  It was just late and I quickly needed a chocolate and coconut fix.

Coconut Topping on Brownies

This is a recipe for coconut topping I used, I spread it over boxed brownie mix and cheated.  It makes enough to cover a whole cake, I used only half the amount to cover the brownies with a thin layer.  Or double the brownies and use all your topping.  I had everything on hand, and it really only took about 40 min. with baking and all.

Coconut Topping over Brownies:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 egg yolks, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cup flaked coconut
  • 1 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

In a heavy 2 quart sauce pan, combine sugar, milk, butter, vanilla, and egg yolks.  Cook over medium heat for 10-13 minutes until thick and bubbly.  Stir frequently.  Stir in coconut and pecans, and remove from heat to cool.

I made my topping, and allowed it to cool while I put my brownies together.  I baked my brownies and let them cool slightly before covering with my topping.  Again, I only used half my topping and made my brownies more into a bar dessert.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

