RSS Feed

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Every person on the planet has a favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I like my cookies moist and soft, but not mushy.  I know I have tried more than a dozen recipes and only discovered this one last year, not sure where I picked it up.  I will probably forever make this recipe and it is my favorite.

This recipe yields 4 dozen or so cookies.  I usually will scoop out half my dough and freeze it, then bag it up for later use.  Just pop them on a pan and allow to thaw slightly and bake away as the craving fits.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies:

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp hot water
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream shortening, butter, and sugars until fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time mixing well.

Dissolve in a separate dish baking soda and hot water, then add salt and vanilla.  Once all combined mix into dough.

Once dough is combined well, add your flour and chocolate chips.  Mix until just combined.

Bake for 10 min. and cool on pans for 2 min. before moving to a wire cooling rack.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

