RSS Feed

German Potato Salad

This was a family favorite growing up.  It is a great flavor filled dish that is not only cost effective but feeds a crowd.  I remember when I first married Mr.Picky and asked if he ever had tried German Potato Salad.  He said he did, and didn’t like warm salad and thought it was”gross”.  I never made it after that comment.   I don’t think I was used to his pickiness at that point and tried really hard to please him.

Eight years later after many cravings, I decided to just give it a try.  I looked up a recipe on Allrecipes.com and made it one night, and just called it potatoes.  Mr.Picky went up for thirds that night and kept going on and on about the potatoes.  I just about cried.  Not only was I sad that I had given up my one of my favorite side dishes for eight year but was happy that he loved it.  I mean what is not to love onions, bacon, and potatoes.  Anyway, made this the other night and wanted to share.  Sometimes not naming food, and just serving it really makes a difference.

German Potato Salad

German Potato Salad:

  • 9 potatoes, peeled (I just use red potatoes like my mom did and do not peel them, also used 16 small potatoes)
  • 6 slices bacon, chopped
  • 3/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 TBS flour
  • 2 TBS sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup white vinegar

Peel potatoes or use reds and don’t.  Boil until tender but firm.  Cool, and cube or slice (I cube).

Cook bacon in a dutch oven until crisp, remove bacon and reserve grease.

Saute onion in bacon grease until tender.

In a sm. bowl whisk flour, sugar, salt, celery seed, and pepper.  Add to onions and stir until bubbly.

Remove from heat and stir in water and vinegar, return to stove and bring to a boil.  Boil for 1 minute.

Carefully add bacon and potatoes and gently heat through.

Serve warm.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

