RSS Feed

Chicken and Rice

Oh, how I remember eating this growing up.  It is filling, easy, and delicious not to mention another comfort food for me.  I adapted the original recipe the other day because this is what I had in my fridge to use up.  Instead of baking it like my mom did (I do like it better that way), I threw it all in my slow cooker.  4 hours later chicken and rice was born and devoured.

Pictures do no justice but I am not a photographer by any means.  Some of the ugliest food is the best anyway.  In no way is this dish dry, the rice is covered in a gravy sauce and the chicken is incredibly moist.

Chicken and Rice:Chicken and Rice

  • 2 chicken breast (mine were still frozen)
  • 1 (10 3/4 oz.) can of cream of chicken soup (which I accidentally opened the other day), mom usually uses mushroom soup
  • 1 envelope of onion soup mix
  • 1 1/4 cup brown rice (which Mr.Picky hates but had no idea because the rice turns brown anyway)
  • 3 cups vegetable or chicken stock (or just water but I had some stock to use up)
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp pepper

I threw everything in and stirred it up.

Then placed my chicken in which floated because it was frozen.

Place on low heat for 5-6 hours, or like me I was short on time so it was 2 hours on high and 2 on low.

The chicken can be removed and just shredded and stirred back in, or sliced and served on the side.  As you can see I just pulled it out, shredded it a bit and threw it on top of my rice.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

5 responses »

  1. So you can put this on in the morning – go to work – and when you get back its ready and waiting?

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Slow Money Food and commented:
    Comfort food is good any time. Comfort food on a budget (you can even use leftover chicken here!) is even better! Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

