RSS Feed

Chicken and Rice Leftover Soup

So I had probably 4 cups of my chicken and rice leftover and needed to eat it up.  I never throw out leftovers, even if it means I eat it all week-long.  Mr.Picky despises leftovers, he has gotten better at eating them in the last year but before that he rarely.  Growing up in a large household, I tend to make too much of everything.  So I eat leftovers along with the kids for lunch.  Chicken and rice is a great meal, but the leftovers are just not the same.  Usually the leftovers are too dry, and don’t reheat well so I made them into soup.

This was my Chicken and Rice Leftover Soup, feel free to add whatever vegetables you have or like.  I think peas would be really good in it but had some garlicky green beans leftover so threw them in instead.  This was a great lunch and a great way to use up our odds and ends.

Chicken and Rice Leftover Soup:Chicken and Rice Leftover Soup

  • 4 cups or so of chicken and rice leftovers (see my Chicken and Rice recipe)
  • About 2 cups of water (give or take how thick you want your soup, ours was really thick)
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • A cup of garlicky green bean leftovers (see my Garlicky Green Bean recipes), chopped to bite size

I sautéed my vegetables for about 10 min. in a TBS of olive oil.

Added my leftovers and water, and simmered until carrots were tender.  About 20 minutes.

Seasoned with salt, pepper, and thyme.  You can experiment with seasonings and it is all to taste.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

