RSS Feed

Salad Choices. . .

I love a good salad bar, but usually any restaurant salad bar just doesn’t compare with what I can do at home.  We enjoy salad, it is one the few ways Mr.Picky will eat all his vegetables.  What makes it more exciting is if I put out a variety of toppings.  It gets the kids trying out new things, and they love the idea that they get to create their own.  Don’t get me wrong there are times when I make a tossed or chopped salad but in our house this gets everyone involved.

If I buy lettuce head in bulk, usually 6 Romane heads at a time I need some toppings.  I will spend a little time and wash and chop all of my toppings and keep them in the fridge for dinner every night for the week.  Top with some homemade salad dressings and you are set for the week.  Sometimes we will grill some chicken and it becomes our meal, especially during the hot summer months.

These are common things I will prepare and set out as toppings:Salad Bar

  • tomatoes
  • cucumbers
  • bell peppers
  • olives
  • Leftover bean salad or a rinsed can of beans
  • beets, cooked and cubed
  • cilantro or basil
  • baby corn (as we call them)
  • crumbled blue cheese
  • green onions, or red thinly sliced
  • grapes halved or apples chopped
About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

