RSS Feed

Rustic Potato Salad

Rustic Potato SaladMr.Picky and I were assisting his parent is a large garage sale last week.  Knowing we were going to be tired by the end of the day we decided to BBQ each night.  We had my spinach chicken burgers one night and some bratwursts planned but needed a side dish.  I came home and with the ingredients I had on hand made this potato salad.  It was a hit and will make it again.  I am glad I just remembered to write down my  ingredients as I went.  Most of the time I will create and never be able to do it again.

This salad was chunky and did not have that dry quality a lot of potato salads have.  It has a brightness to it and my mother in-law who does not like dill pickles gave it a A+.

Rustic Potato Salad:

  • About 4-5 lbs. of red potatoes, Yukon gold would be great too
  • 1/3 cup of homemade bread and butter pickles, chopped coarse
  • 1/3 cup of dill pickles, chopped coarse
  • 5 hard boiled eggs, put through an egg slicer both directions

Dressing:

  • 6 oz. container of nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 3 Tbs mustard, your favorite (I used a mix between Dijon and a grainy mustard)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp celery salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh black pepper
  • 1 Tbs sherry
  • 2 Tbs dill pickle juice
  • 2 Tbs bread and butter pickle juice

Steam potatoes peel and all, and allow to cool.  Once they are cool, cube into bite size pieces.  Placed salad ingredients in a bowl and set aside to work on my dressing.

Combine all dressing ingredients in a bowl and whisked until smooth.  Taste it and adjust the flavor to your taste buds.  I thought I had made too much dressing but it was perfect once it was on my salad.

Salad will taste best after chilling in the fridge for a couple of hours or overnight.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

