RSS Feed

Rhubarb Dream

Rhubarb DreamAs I walked through our local farmers market and saw the first stocks of rhubarb I knew I had to have some.  This will be my first batch of rhubarb dream this year, but not my last.  This is an old family recipe.  I am not sure how it got its name but I imagine it is because you will dream of it.  It is not a bar cookie or a pie but a combination of the two.  All I can say is give it a try, you will not be disappointed.  Think lemon squares meets rhubarb, but even better.

Rhubarb Dream:

Crust:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 5 Tbs powdered sugar
  • ½ cup butter, softened

Filling:

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • ¼ cup flour
  • ¾ teasp salt
  • 2 cups finely chopped rhubarb

Cut the first three ingredients together to make crust.  Press into a 8×11″ pan.

Bake crust at 350° for 15 min.Rhubarb Dream

Sift or whisk remaining sugar, flour, salt. Mix with eggs and rhubarb.

Spoon topping on top of crust and bake at 350° for 35 minutes.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

