RSS Feed

Chicken Enchiladas with Verde Sauce

Chicken Enchiladas with Verde SauceLooking back I don’t ever remember eating enchiladas, instead my mom always make a casserole with similar flavors.  When I met my husband his mother was always making enchiladas, with flour tortillas and a verde sauce which I had never tried before.  She usually uses a ground beef filling, but it was her sauce that won me over.  She showed me her secret which is so simple.  This recipe was given to her from an acquaintance thirty some years ago.

I use the verde sauce recipe but choose to put a chicken filling in my enchiladas.  The filling changes every time I make enchiladas because it usually consists of what I have on hand.  Feel free to subtract, add, or substitute your filling; but I would try the sauce as it is.

Chicken Enchiladas with a verde sauce:Chicken enchiladas with Verde Sauce

Sauce:

  • 1 (10 3/4 oz.)can cream of chicken soup
  • 3/4 of can filled with milk
  • 1 (7 oz.) can of Salsa verde (this has some kick, I usually only add only 1/2 a can to my sauce)

Filling:

  • Rotisserie chicken or 3 chicken breasts (cooked), shredded or chopped
  • 2 Tbs green chiles or a small can, diced
  • 4 Tbs cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 cup baby spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup cheddar or mexican blend cheese, shredded
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • About 8 6″ flour tortillas

For the sauce place chicken soup, and milk in a medium saucepan over medium heat.  Whisk until smooth, and add the salsa verde to a level of spice that you can handle.  I usually use about a 1/2 a can to serve to my family.  I would start with a 1/4 of a can and taste the sauce as you add the salsa verde.  Once your sauce is smooth, remove from heat and set aside.

For the filling in a large bowl combine all ingredients except the tortillas.  Mix until combined and consistant throughout.  Like I said, add as much or as little of whatever sounds good to you.

This time I sautéed my corn and onions a bit, and added my spinach in just enough to wilt it.  I almost always add sour cream and cheese to my chicken filling.  My vegetables vary on what is in the house, or what needs to be used up.

To assemble grease a 9×13″ casserole dish, and spread about 1/2 cup of the sauce on the bottom of pan to prevent sticking of enchiladas.

I used about 2/3 of a cup of filling per 6″ tortilla and rolled them up, placing seam side down in my casserole dish.  Fit them any which way you can, it worked for me to put two rows of four enchiladas across my pan.

Pour the remaining bit of sauce all over the enchiladas, taking care to cover every bit of tortilla with some sauce so the tortilla does not dry out.

Bake at 350 degrees, for about 25 minutes or until bubbly and starting to brown.  Add 1/4 cup more of shredded cheese to the top the last 5 min. of baking if you would like.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

