RSS Feed

Do Girls Make the Best Sandwiches???

Sandwich

I was making preparing lunch for the family last week and was making some sandwiches.  Nothing out of the ordinary I make them all the time.  After we had finished our lunch Mr.Picky turned to me and said, “Girls make the best sandwiches”.  He explained that if he had made the sandwich himself, it just wouldn’t have been as good.  These were pretty good sandwiches, but I began to think do we?

I asked Mr.Picky, “is it the fact that someone else is preparing your food, or is it the fact that I am a girl?”  He was sure it was because I was a girl.  I thanked him, and haven’t stopped thinking about it since.  I worked in a restaurant as mostly a cook for over 7 years.  It was an old drive-in that served burgers, sandwiches, and shakes.  So I have had my fair share of sandwich making.  I want to know what others think.  Is it the fact of experience, someone else preparing your food, or that I am a girl?  What makes a good sandwich?

SandwichLayering and seasoning a sandwich is what make the difference to me.  I always season my sandwiches with salt and pepper, just like you would anything else you are serving.  Mr.Picky is also very fond of bacon, who isn’t?  So I try and bake a pound of bacon up to add to this and that or add to a sandwich when we have it.

Baking Bacon:

Baking BaconBaking bacon is a great way to cook your bacon evenly and without all that splatter.  I cover my sheet pan in foil and place my bacon on without it touching.  Bake it at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes or until desired crispness.  Flipping half way through.  Remove bacon to a plate covered with paper towels to drain grease.  Allow pans to cool slightly, crumple up the foil and clean up is done.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Yes, girls DO make the best sandwiches!!! Why?? Because we don’t think that 2 pieces of bread slathered with mayo and mustard, cheese and meat is a sandwich set in front of someone (or even ourselves) We like a little more thought to go into it, then a look that makes an appetizing appearance. We are visual (especially the guys), so presentation, presentation, presentation is very important and “girls” know that!!! That was one of the first “cooking” terms my girls AND boys learned in my kitchen! If it looks really good, no matter what it is, they will eat it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

