RSS Feed

Chopped Salad with BBQ Ranch Dressing

BBQ Ranch Chopped SaladI love me a big salad, and I love a chopped dressed salad even better.  I have made this chopped salad on various occasions.  My inspiration is my favorite salad at a restaurant I love.

We were headed to my sister-in-laws birthday and I was bringing a green salad.   Tired of the normal green salad with different dressings, I made everyone step out of the box and brought this.  It was a success.   Mr.Picky even asked for me to make it again, and I saw many go up for seconds.  We had grilled chicken so I just topped my salad and had that for dinner.

Of course cut this recipe in half for a normal meal or dinner, but this is written to feed 10-12 people.

Chopped Salad with BBQ Ranch Dressing:

  • 2 heads of romaine or iceberg lettuce (not my usual lettuce picks but you really need a good crunchy lettuce)
  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 small jicama, thinly sliced or cubed
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/2 can black olives, drained and sliced
  • 3 boiled eggs, chopped or sliced
  • 1/2 large bunch of cilantro, chopped or torn
  • 1 red or orange bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup cheddar or mexican blend cheese, shredded

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup Healthier Ranch recipe, bottle ranch, or packet mixed with mayo and sour cream
  • 3 Tbs BBQ sauce, your favorite
  • 1-2 Tbs milk, if needed to thin dressing

*I have also added black beans and grilled chicken to this salad if we are eating as a main dish.  Some crispy fried onions or crispy fried jalapenos are great on top as a garnish.

Combine all the salad fixings in a large bowl.

Whisk together dressing or put ingredients in a jar and shake, until smooth.

Dress salad just before serving with dressing, add a bit at a time until the salad is coated evenly.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

