RSS Feed

Pan Roasted Corn and Potato Soup

The kids and I had caught a cold and were in need of soup for dinner.  I asked my daughter what kind she felt like and potato was the answer.  With eight ears of corn in my fridge I figured I better incorporate some of them.  This was I came up with and it turned out lovely.  Nothing better than sweet corn and a touch of heat to the dish.  Enjoy!

Pan Roasted Corn and Potato Soup

Pan Roasted Corn and Potato Soup:

  • 2 ears of fresh corn, kernels removed
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbs green chiles or 1/2 a jalapeno, minced
  • 3 large russet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 12 oz. evaporated milk
  • 1 tsp salt, more to taste
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp coriander seed, ground
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

In a dutch oven over medium heat add olive oil and corn.  Cook 10-15 minutes until kernels are turning golden.

Add seasoning, onions and chiles, cook 3-4 minutes more.Pan Roasted Corn and Potato Soup

Peel and dice potatoes and add them and the stock.  Simmer for 30 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

I used an immersion blender at this point to make my soup semi-smooth.  Your choice how smooth or chunky you go.

Add the can of evaporated milk and heat through.  Taste and add any additional salt or a dash of hot sauce.

We served our soup with a little cheese, green onion and chopped bacon I had in the fridge.  Tasted just as good the next day without toppings.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

