RSS Feed

Rice Pudding

Rice Pudding

Rice pudding is a major comfort food for me, almost as good as homemade tapioca.  This recipe from Allrecipes.com beats any recipe I have ever tried.  I make this anytime we have leftover white rice in the house.  Usually a double recipe is required if we have any company.

Last year my best friend was visiting from out-of-town and we had made it for dessert.  She ended up having a second helping and taking some home.  This recipe is dedicated to my best friend.  Not only does the taste of rice pudding comfort me, but now I share the memory of her by my side as I cook it.

Rice Pudding:

  • 1½ cups cooked rice
  • 2 cups milk, divided
  • ⅓ cup sugar
  • ¼ teasp salt
  • 1 egg
  • ⅔ cup plumped, raisins
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • ½ teasp vanilla

Rice PuddingCook  1 1/2 cup rice, 1 1/2 cup milk, sugar, and salt in a pot over medium heat until thick and creamy.  About 20 minutes, making sure to stir constantly.

Stir in 1/2 cup milk, 1 egg beaten, and 2/3 cup plumped raisins. Cook 2 minutes more. (Plump raisins by covering them in boiling water and allow them to set for 10 min. or so and drain water)

Remove from heat, stir in 1 TBS butter and 1/2 tsp vanilla.

Serve warm or chilled.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

