RSS Feed

Parmesan-Mayo Crusted Salmon (Almost?)

I had a few salmon fillets that we were going to eat for dinner.  Wanting to step out of my usual recipe, this is the recipe I found Oven Roasted Salmon with Parmesan-Mayo Crust | she cooks…he cleans.  Maybe I didn’t follow instructions correctly but this was almost a complete fail.  I didn’t use as much salmon as called for but I reduced the amounts of mayo and parmesan.  Or did this fail because I didn’t make homemade mayonnaise?  Although I did use a high quality olive oil mayo.

Although it turned out not to be a favorite recipe it was good.  The quantities of the topping just didn’t come out right.  There was way too much sauce on top of our fish, we couldn’t even taste our fish and ended up scraping it off.  Adjustments of this recipe are needed for us to ever make again.

Not that my pictures are amazing on a normal day, these photos are just terrible.  The sauce topping the fish was overpowering.  This is what happens when I don’t trust my gut, lesson learned.

Parmesan and Mayo Crusted Salmon

You can try the original recipe as linked but this is my suggestion if I ever make it again.

Parmesan-Mayo Crusted Salmon:

  • 2 large (6 oz.) fillets of salmon
  • 1 Tbs mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbs parmesan cheese, grated
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Rinse and pat dry your salmon.  Season both sides with salt and pepper.  Easy on the salt parmesan is very salty already.

Mix together mayo and parmesan, and spread an even thin layer over fish.

Placing salmon in a cast iron skillet or baking sheet lined with foil.  Bake at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes, or until flaky depending on thickness of salmon.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

