RSS Feed

7 Layer Salad

7 Layer Salad

This recipe is very familiar to me, we ate it growing up for dinner in the summer time.  Mr. Picky loves this salad, he often requests it.  It is probably the easiest way to get him to eat his vegetables and go back for seconds and thirds.  Okay so the vegetables are covered with mayonnaise, cheese, and bacon but who am I to judge.

The best part of this salad is that it tastes best if made 4-24 hours ahead of time.  Which makes it perfect for summer or to take along to a potluck.  Make it the night before a busy day and come home to dinner done.  I have seen the ingredients vary from recipe to recipe but this is how I make it.

7 Layer Salad:

  • 1 head of iceberg lettuce(not the same if you substitute, you really need this to make the salad have it’s crunch)
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion (either red or green onions 3-4 stocks), chopped
  • Frozen Peas (16 oz.), thawed and rinsed
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese (shredded), I only had a blend on hand this day
  • 5-6 slices bacon, cooked until crisp and chopped

Dressing:

  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 tsp ground white pepper
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 2 Tbs powdered parmesan cheese (what I call “fake” parmesan out of a can)

Wash, chop, and dry your lettuce.  You want to have nice bite size pieces of lettuce.

Whisk together mayo, sugar, pepper and powdered parmesan cheese.  Set aside, this will be your dressing layer.

In a large glass bowl you are going to layer your salad in the following order.  A clear glass trifle bowl works great so you can see all the layers.  I don’t have one  but will be on the look out the perfect one to add to my collection of bowls.

Helping hands making 7 layer salad.

Helping hands making 7 layer salad.

Layering: Lettuce, green pepper, onions, peas, mayo dressing, shredded cheese, and then bacon.

Cover and refrigerate for  4 to 24 hours.  The salad really needs to chill for at least 4 hours or it will not taste the same.  When serving be sure to scoop all the way down through your layers.

Even though we are a small family of four this salad lasts in our fridge for a few days just dishing it out as we want.

Individual 7 Layer SaladsAfter making this the other night for dinner Mr.Picky decided he wanted bowls of it packed for his dinners for the week.  So away I went making generous Tupperware filled with 7 Layer Salad.  No complaints from me, he is eating vegetables and I only had to make one thing for three dinners.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

5 responses »

  1. Lots of lovely color in there 🙂

    Reply
  2. I thought I was married to Mr. Picky! Except that my Mr. Picky HATES mayo. How am I gonna make a 7-layer salad with no Mayo! I’ll just keep searching for a 7-layer salad sans the Mayo. Your recipe looks absolutely delicious, though. I may have to make a bowl just for myself.

    Reply
  3. That’s a great idea! I love greek yogurt. Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll give it a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

