RSS Feed

My Cinnamon Rolls

My Cinnamon RollsMr.Picky is not much of a sweet eater.  Shortly after we started dating I figured out he has only two weaknesses when it comes to a sweet treat; cheesecake and cinnamon rolls.  Man did he marry the right girl.  I pride myself on making some of the best cinnamon rolls you can put in your mouth.

I have made this recipe for years and it is compilation of different recipes I picked up along the way and altered to my liking.  Over the years I have transformed this recipe to be the best in my eyes.  Don’t be scared if you are not a baker, cinnamon rolls are a lot easier than you think.

I will walk you through step by step.  My pictures have happy helpers in them.  Cinnamon rolls are so much fun to make, everyone wants to help.

My dough looks darker because I was out of All-Purpose Flour and had to use a white whole wheat flour.  They still turned out just as good, feel free to use either.

My Cinnamon Rolls:

Dough:

  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp yeast or one package of yeast
  • 4 1/4 cup flour

Combine milk and yeast, allow to sit for 10 minutes or until beginning to bubble.  If your yeast is not bubbling after 10 minutes check your expiration date on the yeast or you might have got your milk to hot and killed it.  Start again.

In a mixing bowl or in a bowl by hand combine flour, sugar, and salt.  Whisk it together or sift it so it is well combined.  Add in butter, eggs, and milk/yeast.  Using your paddle attachment mix until just combined.

Attach your dough hook or knead your dough by hand.  Knead on low for at least 5 minutes.  You want your dough to have a slight elastic feel when you pinch and pull your dough.

Cinnamon Roll DoughCover your dough with plastic wrap and allow rise until doubled.  Usually takes about an hour, in a warm place.  I will usually turn my oven on low for 5 minutes and then turn it off.  I place my bowl of dough in the oven with the door open. Or just on the kitchen counter works as well, as long as the dough doubles.

Once the dough has doubled turn it out onto a lightly floured surface.  Let rest for 10 minutes before moving on.  Now is a great time to mix your filling.

Filling:

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 Tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened

Combine the brown sugar and cinnamon until mixed through.  Set aside.

My Cinnamon RollsOnce dough has rested roll out to at least a 16 x 21″ rectangle with the long side facing you.  Spread the dough with the 1/2 cup butter that is softened.  Make sure every last bit of dough has butter on it.

Then evenly sprinkle the sugar/cinnamon filling over the butter.  Leave a 1/2″ uncovered by sugar on the long edge opposite of you ( you don’t have to, I just find it easier to roll and seal up).

Roll up your dough starting closest to you with the long edge of the rectangle.  Lightly press the buttered edge against your roll to seal it up.  Cut your roll into 12 roll; start by cutting roll in half, then quarters, and then each quarter into thirds.

Place rolls swirl side up in a greased 9 x 13″ pan.  Cover rolls and allow to rise another 30-45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Bake rolls for 13-15 minutes or until just starting to turn golden brown.  Do not over bake.

While rolls are baking make your frosting as listed below:

Frosting:

  • 4 oz. cream cheese, reduced fat works fine
  • 2 Tbs butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1-2 Tbs milk

Cream cream cheese and butter, add in the rest of the ingredients except milk and whip until smooth.  Start adding in 1 Tbs milk and add one more to get the desired consistency.

Once your rolls are done, remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes before spreading with frosting.

My Cinnamon RollsEnjoy these freshly baked goodies and don’t forget to share, if you don’t you might eat them all.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

