RSS Feed

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe

Sweet and Sour chickenChinese food is my favorite.  I will never get Mr.Picky to like it but when he is gone we can eat it all we want.  My daughter requests this as often as I am willing to make it.  I have never cared for anything sweet and sour related but this recipe won me over.  Everyone I know that I have made if for has fallen in love, and have passed this recipe out many times.

If you have not tried this recipe do not wait any longer.  Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe | Six Sisters’ Stuff is one of the most family friendly recipes I have found.  The first time I made it about a year ago, I ended up making it twice in one week.

I changed the recipe only slightly by adding vegetables.  I also will double the sauce recipe sometimes so we have more sauce to pour over our rice.

Beware it is simple but time-consuming, so give yourself some time.

Baked Sweet and Sour Chicken:

  • 2-3 boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup grape seed oil
  • 1 large sweet onion, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 red or yellow pepper, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 can of chunky pineapple, drained

Sauce:

  • 3/4 cup sugar 
  • 4 Tbs ketchup
  • 1/2 cup vinegar (cider or white vinegar)
  • 1 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tsp garlic salt

Preheat oven 325 degrees.

In a greased 9 X 13″ pan place cut up peppers, onion, and pineapple if desired and set aside.  Mind you that you can add or leave out any of these vegetables.

Rinse chicken in water, pat dry and season with salt and pepper.

In a gallon bag combine chicken and cornstarch.  Shake the bag until evenly coated.

Heat a large skillet with oil.

Dip 1/4 of chicken into egg at a time, then fry chicken until just brown but not cooked.  Be sure to not crowd the chicken in the skillet or they will not brown.

Sweet and Sour ChickenTransfer chicken pieces to the baking pan as they brown.  Just place on top of the vegetables in a single layer.  Continue browning chicken until all chicken is in the baking pan.

Whisk together the sauce and evenly pour onto chicken.

Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

