RSS Feed

Best Hummus Dip

At one point I had heard the tip to use the liquid in canned garbanzo beans in your hummus.  This made my homemade hummus the best that it can be.  We make hummus often because we are a dipping kind of family.  Everyone including Mr.Picky loves it.

I will cut up a whatever vegetables I have in around and have them ready in the fridge at all times.  It makes for an easy healthy go to snack.  Especially if you place them in a clear container in the front of your fridge where you will see them.

Best Hummus Dip

This recipe makes about 4 cups of hummus which is a lot for us to eat before it goes bad.  My rule for prepared food is usually a week and it’s out of the fridge.  This hummus freezes great.  You can split the hummus up after it is made and freeze what you are not using.  Just thaw in the fridge and give it a good stir before serving.

Best Hummus Dip:

  • 2 (16 oz.) cans of garbanzo beans/chickpeas, liquid reserved separately
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced or grated
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup tahini paste, this is sesame paste
  • salt and pepper
  • 2-3 Tbs lemon juice

Best Hummus RecipeCombine all the ingredients in a food processor.  Adding the reserved liquid a bit at a time until you get the desired consistency you wish.  Process until smooth, or keep it chunky if you like.

*I keep roasted garlic frozen in the freezer for a moments notice.  I love to add 4-5 cloves of roasted garlic into the hummus.  Another flavor option is 1/2-1 tsp ground cumin or add both.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. I like trying new hummus recipes (mostly because when I make a great one I forget to write down how I changed the original recipe). I’m making this one this weekend, as well as your hummus spinach dip. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

