RSS Feed

Buffalo Oven Fries

I was watching a favorite cooking show of mine and attempted to recreate what I saw one of the guests make.  It combined french fries Mr.Picky’s favorite thing, buffalo sauce a flavor we both enjoy, and blue cheese a favorite of mine.  Buffalo Oven FriesWhat could go wrong?  Well actually something did but it was all fixed thanks to Mr.Picky who on this evening had a lot more patience than I did.

My patients were thin on this particular evening, and I wasn’t feeling very good.  After baking my oven fries longer than already specified in no way did they resemble the crunchy brown ones that came out of the studio oven.  I was ready to give up, Mr.Picky tried one and said the taste like fries they are fine.  All I have to say is I think this show cheated and deep-fried their fries to get them to look this way, I don’t believe you can bake fries to that perfection.  After I sucked up my poor attitude and tried the fries I was ready to move on to the buffalo version.  We pulled some plain fries off the baking sheet for the kids and continued to our buffalo flavor adventure.

Buffalo Oven Fries:

  • 3 large russet potatoes, peeled and cut into french fry size pieces
  • 2 Tbs grape seed oil or olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Buffalo sauce (we prefer Frank’s)
  • 1/4 cup or less of blue cheese crumbles
  • Healthier Ranch to dip

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Place peeled and sliced potatoes in a large bowl.  Toss with oil, salt, and pepper and spread in a single layer on a sheet pan.  Bake the potatoes for about 40-45 minutes, turning a few times until tender and beginning to crisp.

You can stop at this point if you just want oven baked fries, if you want to take your fries of a flavor vacation continue.

Scrap fries back into a large bowl and toss with as much buffalo sauce as you would like.  Pour them back on the sheet pan and sprinkle with blue cheese.

Place back in the oven for about 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  Serve with my healthier ranch to dip.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

