RSS Feed

Egg Salad Sandwiches

Egg Salad Sandwiches

Grated or Sliced, I had never heard of someone grating their hard-boiled eggs to make into egg salad until I met Mr.Picky’s family.  It totally changed the texture for me, a little too smooth.  I now prefer to slice both ways with the egg slicer and then grate the half to make the perfect textured egg salad.

Although my kids have eaten these many times in the past, it has only recently become their favorite.  My soon to be five-year-old asks for them for both lunch and dinner.  Give it a try, although I am pretty sure this is nothing new to most of you.

Basic Egg Salad:

  • 6-7 hard-boiled eggs (peeled and sliced, chopped, or grated whatever you prefer)
  • 1-2 Tbs onion, grated over the boil so you catch the onion juice
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 3 Tbs mayo or less
  • A dash of cayenne pepper or hot sauce
  • 2 Tbs Dijon mustard or horseradish
  • 3 Tbs sweet relish

Egg SaladBoil or bake your eggs however you prefer to obtain a hard-boiled egg.  I boil mine with a large pinch of baking soda, it really makes a difference in peeling the egg.  If I am making a dozen or more eggs I will usually bake them.

Combine all the ingredients and serve on bread or in a pita pocket.  If I am lucky enough to have salad sprouts around they are usually the only other thing I put on my sandwich.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

3 responses »

  1. Its funny (to me anyway) but my 9 year old would eat this but the 13 year old wouldn’t The younger one has a taste for hot (mustard, horseradish) but the older one doesn’t. Good on the younger one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

