RSS Feed

Four Bean Salad

It feels like every summer night for dinner at Grandma’s house this salad was on the table.  I know Grandma loves it and so do I.  Mr.Picky will eat it, but I am pretty sure he doesn’t count beans as vegetables.  The kids will eat it, sometimes leaving behind this or that.

In fact a few weeks ago I was in the grocery store and watched someone buy this salad premade.  This was a crazy idea, not only is it not cost-effective but it can’t and doesn’t taste as good.  You can adjust the amount of sugar for a more tangy salad, but I suggest you make it according to the recipe at least the first time.

Four Bean SaladFour Bean Salad:

  • 1 can green beans
  • 1 can wax beans
  • 1 can garbanzo beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • ½ cup chopped sweet onion
  • chopped green pepper
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ½ cup vinegar
  • ½ cup oil (canola or grape seed)
  • ½ tsp pepper

Drain and rinse all the beans, combine with the onion and pepper in a large bowl.

Whisk together the sugar and vinegar first, this will allow the sugar to dissolve fully.  Add in oil and pepper and whisk until well combined.  Pour over bean salad and stir to combine.

If possible make this salad the night before, with a minimum of 4 hours to chill.  The longer it sits the better the flavor.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Love this salad, but haven’t made if for a while– thanks for reminding me and putting up the recipe!

    Reply
    • You are welcome! I never claim anything that is not mine most of my recipes come from my grandma and often wonder if some of my posts are silly. But I know how hard it is some days to figure out what to make for dinner, inspiration is everything.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

