RSS Feed

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

My mom came across this recipe from Menu Musings of a Modern American Mom, she told me I had to try it and she was right.  This was a great way to make zucchini and could be eaten as a meal alone or as a side dish.  For the original recipe please visit the link, I had to adapt the recipe a bit.

Unfortunately I did not read my recipe close enough when grocery shopping and had no tomatoes in the house.  I simply left out the tomatoes.  I also added a bit of my own spice combination.  Can’t go wrong with bacon in anything and I am sure that is the only reason Mr.Picky ate this.  Zucchini is a texture thing for him, which I can understand.  The kids didn’t mind eating them either, probably because I called them boats.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats:

  • 5 small zucchini
  • 5-6 pieces of bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 of a medium sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp curry
  • 1/2 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1 Tbs sour cream
  • Fresh parmesan cheese, grated
  • pepper, to taste

Start by frying chopped bacon in a non-stick pan, once almost all the way crisp add onion and garlic. Add salt, curry, and italian seasoning and continue to cook until onions become tender.  The bacon fat acts as your oil or butter, so there is no need to drain it.

While the mixture is frying, cut zucchini lengthwise and scoop out the inside with a spoon leaving an edge to hold the filling.  Reserve the inside of the filling and chop finely.  Place empty zucchini “boats” on a baking sheet.

Once onions have become tender remove from heat, stir in chopped zucchini and sour cream.  Stuff filling into zucchini “boats” evenly.  Sprinkle each zucchini with parmesan cheese and freshly ground pepper.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes, enjoy!Stuffed Zucchini Boats

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

