RSS Feed

Meatball Subs

At my favorite sub shop meatball subs are my favorite.  Mr.Picky dislikes marinara sauce and was not excited to see that I was making meatball subs with a red sauce.  Next thing I know he is going up for a second sandwich.  The end results for dinner was those were pretty good, I guess you can make them again.  Turns out I know what a good sandwich is, and we have a new dinner to add to the list.

I am going to let you know now that I cheated and used frozen Italian meatballs, but by all means feel free to make your own.  I had a package in the freezer and have been working hard to empty my freezer.

Meatball SubsMeatball Subs:

Meatballs and Sauce:

  • 25-30 meatballs, frozen or cooked
  • 1 (16 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 tsp granulated onion
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 Tbs brown sugar

Sandwiches:

  • 5-6 french hoagie rolls or rolls of your choice
  • mozzarella cheese
  • parmesan cheese
  • meatballs and sauce ( I slice my meatballs in half to make a more manageable sandwich)

Place meatballs and sauce ingredients in a small 1 quart slow cooker.  Cook on keep warm for about 4 hours, I believe this is key in order to make the sauce amazing.

To assemble sandwiches open up rolls on a sheet pan.  Place mozzarella cheese on the top half and sliced meatballs on the bottom half.  Spoon a bit of sauce onto meatballs and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Broil assembled sandwiches open until bubbly, remove and fold sandwich in half.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Oh, that looks good right now! Fabulous and great picture! And the CHEESE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

