RSS Feed

Baked Berry Oatmeal

Baked Berry OatmealBerry season is in full fledge, and I am loving it.  The kids are enjoying and sometimes not, going to local berry farms and picking until our fingers are stained.  The freezer is slowly filling with berries, I hope they will last a little longer than the last year.

Having seen many blueberry baked oatmeal recipes on pinterest, I got curious.  I had never thought of baking oatmeal.  We love oatmeal so I knew this was something I wanted to try.  As I read through recipes most contained bananas, which we did not have any ripe.  Also as much as I preach to try new things, bananas in my oatmeal is just not appealing.  So I crafted a recipe of my own.

I made a 9×9 inch baking dish, and just the kids and I finished the pan for breakfast.  It was like eating crisp for breakfast we decided but healthier.  I think I might even make it for dessert and try to pass it off for crisp.

Baked Berry Oatmeal:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup walnuts or almonds, optional
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 Tbs butter, melted
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (plain or I used some blackberry/applesauce)
  • 1 1/2 cup berries (raspberry, blueberry, or blackberries would all work well)

Baked Berry OatmealSpray or grease a 9×9 inch glass baking dish.  Place 1 cup of the berries on the bottom, along with 1/4 cup of applesauce.

Mix oats, nuts, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and sugar.  Spread over berries evenly.

Mix egg, milk, 1/4 cup applesauce, and melted butter.  Pour evenly over oat mixture, and sprinkle with 1/2 cup of remaining berries.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes, allow to cool slightly before eating.

YUMMY!

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. This looks great! I have to go check out back and see if we have any blackberries so I can make this! The kids have been sneaking outside and eating them all up on me before I have a chance to make anything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

