RSS Feed

No More Pancake Mix

Old Fashioned PancakesThis recipe Old Fashion Pancakes-Allrecipes is a great easy recipe.  You can throw it together almost as quick as a pancake mix and tastes twice as good.  Mr.Picky gets a craving for pancakes once in a blue moon, but when he does this is the recipe I go to.  I prefer my grandma’s recipe,pumpkin or applesauce pancakes.  If you would rather have a good plain pancake you can’t go wrong.

The recipe makes verily puffy pancakes, which aren’t quite my style.  If you like them, then by all means.  For those of you who don’t I add about 1/4 cup of water until the batter is the consistency I like.  These pancakes do brown up just perfect.  I use either a cast-iron on medium or for a crowd my electric griddle turned to 350 degrees.

Old Fashion Pancakes:

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs butter, melted

Sift or whisk the dry ingredients and make a well in the center.

Add remaining ingredients and mix until smooth.  At this point if the batter seems thicker than you like your pancakes, add a bit of water until you reach the desired consistency.

Cook the pancakes over a medium heat 2-3 minutes per side.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

