RSS Feed

Luscious Slush Punch

This will be my fifth year as a birthday party throwing mom, and I love to host.  I found this recipe Luscious Slush Punch Recipe – Allrecipes.com five years ago and use this punch every year for the kid’s party.  It helps that we have summer birthdays, so it is hot and a nice slushy punch tastes amazing.

Not only does this punch taste great, but you can make it ahead.  Anyone who has hosted anything knows that make ahead is the key to a smooth party.  Plus the punch is frozen so there is no need to worry about buying ice, or melting of ice.

Of course I can never leave anything alone, but I did find the original recipe is a bit sweet.  You are basically adding sugar to a bunch or sugar, and then pouring a bottle of sugar on it.  So I reduced the sugar and all is well.  I have also substituted the orange juice before for apricot nectar because that is what I had.  Improvise if you need to, just keep the quantities the same or you won’t fit it in the bags.

Luscious  Slush Punch:Luscious Punch

  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 6 cups water
  • 1 (6 oz.) package strawberry flavored gelatin mix
  • 1 (46 oz.) can pineapple juice
  • 2/3 cup lemon juice
  • 32 oz. or 1 quart orange juice
  • 2 (2 liter) bottle of lemon-lime soda

Bring sugar, water, and jello to a boil in a large pot.  Boil for 3 minutes.

Remove from heat, and stir in the 3 juices.

Divide mixture into 2 gallon size freezer bags.  I use the technique of putting my gallon bag in a pitcher and filling, as shown in the picture.

Freeze the bags of punch until solid, I place my bags in a large bowl in the freezer.  I once laid them flat and had one bag leak, what a mess.

Combine each bag with one 2 liter of soda, mix about 20 minutes before serving for the slush to form.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

