RSS Feed

Spicy Orange and Sweet Potato Salad

I took a gamble and stepped out of the box on Spicy Orange and Sweet Potato Salad.  I am a huge fan of sweet potatoes.  I prefer them any day to a regular white potato.

I tested this salad out at the birthday party for the kids.  Every summer event there is the same old  variation of potato salad which I do love but  I can’t help but mix things up.  This salad was a big hit and turned out great.  Thank you Rachel Ray, this recipe was published in the Everyday with Rachael Ray magazine June 2013 issue.

I doubled the recipe for the large crowd but probably could have kept it the same.  I guess not everyone has the love I have for sweet potatoes.  Or maybe I just always over-estimate how much a crowd will eat, but I suppose that is better than underestimating.  When hosting I always fear I will run out of food.

Spicy Orange and Sweet Potato Salad

Spicy Orange and Sweet Potato Salad:

  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 lbs. boiled sweet potatoes, cooked until tender and cubed
  • zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 1 Tbs chipotle in adobe sauce, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 Tbs cilantro, chopped
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • more cilantro for sprinkling

Peel and cube cooked potatoes and place in a large bowl.

Whisk together zest and juice of orange, chipotle pepper, and cumin.  Pour over potatoes and toss to coat, allow to sit for about five minutes.

Meanwhile stir together mayo and cilantro.  Now combine it all and season with salt and pepper.

Garnish with a bit more cilantro.  Yummy!

Spicy Orange and Sweet Potato Salad

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

