RSS Feed

Grandma’s Baked Custard

Baked CustardBaked custard, you are an ultimate comfort food to me.  You used to wake me up with your scent in the morning wafting into my room.  I couldn’t wait to taste that smooth, sweet silky texture.  Sometimes we were allowed to stay up late just to taste you fresh from the oven.

Many memories revolve around custard, including my best childhood friend who hated the stuff.  My sister and I would eat it in front of her trying to make her sick.  We thought it was so funny.

Although most would consider custard a dessert, as a child I often ate it for breakfast.  My mother found it to have no more sugar than anything else you would eat for breakfast.  Some people have doughnuts or sweetened cereal, at least custard is full of protein.

Usually I would never adapt one of grandma’s recipes.  But upon finding this recipe card in my box, I realized neither nutmeg or vanilla were on the ingredient list.  My mother used this recipe but always added both, so I did.

Grandma’s Baked Custard:

  • 2 cups scalded Milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup Sugar
  • 1/2-1 tsp vanilla
  • dash Cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • dash salt

To make scalded milk, simple bring the milk to point of boiling.  Remove from heat, allow to rest about 10 minutes and skim off the skin that forms on the milk.  If you stir constantly you will not get this film on top of milk.  There is a video link attached to scalded milk highlighted above, if you are unsure.

In a bowl whisk together everything but the milk.Baked Custard before baking

Mix milk with egg mixture a bit at a time to temper the eggs, so they do not curdle.

Pour into 9×13 pan.

Bake for 20 minutes or until firm around the edges at 325 degrees.  The custard will continue to set.  Serve warm or chilled.Baked Custard

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Food and fond memories, can it get any better? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

