RSS Feed

Susan’s Coffee Cake

Susan's Coffee CakeI am not sure who Susan is, but Grandma has been making her coffee cake since I was a little girl.  I suppose I will need to ask her soon, if she even knows who she is or if she clipped the recipe out of the paper  years ago.

Coffee cake is so yummy, as long as it is not to dry.  Then again there is a reason you eat it with coffee to wash it down.  Susan’s coffee cake on the other hand is nice and moist because it has an amazing buttermilk glaze on top to soak into the cake.  I was looking through my recipe box and had put this recipe to the side to make.

Not once have I made this recipe on my own.  It has probably been at least 15 years since I have eaten it.  Grandma would make coffee cake if they were having company for brunch.  I would get it eat it if I was lucky enough to be over there when the company came.

Sorry about no post yesterday, we were camping.  Camping was fun but along with camping comes a lot of work for me, the mom that always is prepared for everything.  I try to plan all my meals and get anything done ahead of time.  This way I might actually get to enjoy our camping vacation.

For dinner I had lots of ideas and I made a big container of chunky chicken salad for lunches.  But what to make for breakfast?  Mr.Picky would like a hot breakfast every morning including potatoes, eggs, some gravy if he had his choice.  When you’re camping this is completely possible but a lot more work than I was willing to put in for a two-day trip.

I recently learned my husband who hates sweets enjoys coffee cake.  This was after I sent him to the store for a few items and he came home with two large boxes of coffee cake mix and was on a mission to eat some (but that is a whole nother story).  Then it clicked, I could make Susan’s Coffee Cake but with no nuts for Mr.Picky and bring it camping with us.  Talk about a no cook meal that everyone would be happy with.  I did bring some bananas in which everyone was required to eat before they had cake for breakfast.

Susan’s coffee cake fresh out of the oven was tempting, I wanted to dig right in.  We ate it two days later and it was still amazing.  I had a few disposable tin containers with lids, that just worked perfect to take my cake in camping.  It sealed great and was really a no mess breakfast.  I hope you can enjoy this recipe as much as we did.  I am sure I will be making this a lot more often now.

Susan’s Coffee Cake:Susan's Coffee Cake

This yields a 8 x 8″ pan, and would easily feed 6-9 people a good size piece.

Cake:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Topping:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbs flour
  • 1 Tbs butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup nut, chopped ( I would use pecans or walnuts)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 Tbs water

Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup butter

For the cake prepare a 8 x 8″ square baking pan by greasing it lightly.

Mix together sugar, shortening, egg, and milk.  Meanwhile sift or whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  Then combine the two mixtures to form a smooth thick batter.

Spread batter into pan.

Combine all the topping ingredients in a small bowl.  My topping is going to look verily smooth because I left out the nuts.Susan's Coffee Cake

Spread topping on top of batter as best you can, I used the back of a spoon to lightly spread it around.

Bake the coffee cake at 375 degrees, for 25-30 minutes.  Check with a toothpick, when it comes out clean of the center your cake it is done.

The last few minutes of baking combine all the glaze ingredients in a small sauce pan.  Over medium heat while stirring, heat the mixture until boiling.  Boil for one minutes and remove from heat.

Pour the hot glaze over the hot coffee cake evenly.  Allow the coffee cake to cool before serving.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

