RSS Feed

Cloud Frosting

When I have the chance to cook for a large crowd I can’t help but try some new recipes.  I was looking for a simple and beautiful frosting that wouldn’t take a lot of piping.  When I came across Always With Butter: Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cloud Frosting.  This cloud frosting was just what I was looking for.  This is a high gloss frosting with a sweet, light, fluffy, and almost iridescent touch to it.

Cloud Frosting

I did just a simple swirl piping, and I added an edible pearl on top of each cupcake.  The frosting fresh out of the bag had the texture of a stiff whip cream, but after about an hour it took on an almost marshmallow consistency.  I prefered it fresh, but got a lot of compliments on it.

I had made over 40 cupcakes and was worried that my one batch of frosting was not going to cut it.  Turns out I had half left, but it stored nicely in a gallon bag with the air squeezed out in the fridge.  I used it a few days later on a cake I was doing for a shower.  So word to the wise, I would possible cut this recipe in half next time.   I whipped the frosting a bit before using again.  I also tried coloring it and with turned out great.  The pink on the owl cake is colored cloud frosting.

Owl Cake

Cloud Frosting:

  • 2 1/2 cup sugar
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 Tbs vanilla

Cloud Frosting

 

Combine sugar, egg whites, water, and cream of tartar in a metal bowl.  Beat with a hand beater until foamy.

Set over a pan of barely simmering water, and continue to whisk.

Continue to whisk until sugar is dissolved and the mixture is warm about 3-5 minutes.

Transfer the mixture to a stand mixer with the whisk attachment.  Beat on high-speed until stiff peaks form.

Add in vanilla until well combined.  Enjoy however you choose.

 

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

