RSS Feed

Best Bread and Butter Pickles

My husband’s family loves bread and butter pickles.  I remember Mr.Picky telling me how much he likes them, personally I am a dill pickle girl.  In fact I thought I hated bread and butter pickles, as it turns out it is probably just store-bought ones I dislike so much.

Best Bread and Butter Pickles
Last year I had canned dill pickles and dill beans, amongst numerous other things.  I thought I was through with canning when my grandmother gave me one large cucumber after the other.  The cucumbers were nice slicer cucumbers but I could only eat so much.  I decided I would look up a recipe for bread and butter pickles and give it a whirl.  Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe – Allrecipes.com had the best ratings so it was the recipe I went with.

This recipe was amazing and not too sweet.  It turns out I do like bread and butter pickles.  I especially love the peppers and onions in the jar as well.  Sometimes we top our sandwiches with the pickles or I will chop up the peppers,onions, and pickles to make a relish.  The relish is particularly wonderful in tuna salad.

Best Bread and Butter Pickles:Best Bread and Butter Pickles

This recipe yields 8 – 1 quart jars

  • 25 cucumbers, sliced
  • 6 onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 green peppers, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 3 cups cider vinegar
  • 5 cups white vinegar
  • 2 Tbs mustard seed
  • 1 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1/2 tsp whole cloves
  • 1 Tbs ground turmeric

In a large bowl, mix together cucumbers, onions, green bell peppers, garlic and salt. Allow to stand approximately 3 hours.

In a large saucepan, mix the cider vinegar, white sugar, mustard seed, celery seed, whole cloves and turmeric. Bring to a boil.

Drain liquid from the cucumber mixture. Stir the mixture into the boiling vinegar mixture. Remove from heat shortly before the combined mixtures return to boil.

Transfer to sterile containers. Seal and chill in the refrigerator until serving.

Or can in a water bath for 15 minutes.  Allow to cool before storing.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

3 responses »

  1. Excuse my ignorance, we’re more Asian pickle people (kimchi for example), please explain difference between dill and bread and butter pickles (this could be an idea for another post). I guess I could Google both, but then it would not have the personal touch. Thanks!

    Reply
    • We love kimchi as well. Bread and butter pickles have a unique flavor almost a sweet pickle but with a mustard tang and spicy to them. It is a hard flavor to describe. You could buy a jar but they probably won’t taste that great.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sweet Pickle Relish | Feeding Mr.Picky Feeding Mr.Picky Sweet Pickle Relish Feeding Mr.Picky | Nothing to do but cook and take care of my family.

Leave a Reply

