RSS Feed

Applesauce Pancakes from scratch

Applesauce Pancakes by scratchSo pancakes usually just do nothing for me.  They usually just feel heavy in my stomach and are a bit sweet with syrup on them.  Rarely do I make them and if I do I want good pancakes by scratch.  When looking for a new recipe to try I came across Mom’s Applesauce Pancakes Recipe – Allrecipes.com.  I found this last year just after I had finished canning about 25 quarts of applesauce.

My kids loved this recipe and enjoy eating them both fresh and cold for snack later in the day.  The smell alone as they cook is like a fresh apple pie in the oven.  A bit of maple syrup is pretty tasty on this apple cinnamon flavored cake.  Unlike the original recipe which can be made with boxed pancake mix, I have altered the recipe to be completely homemade.

Applesauce Pancakes:

  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbs butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1 1/4 cup milk

Combine flour, salt, sugar, and cinnamon.  Whisk until combined well.

Add in remaining ingredients and whisk until smooth.  If the batter is thick for your liking, simply add a bit more milk.

Does it look a little purple?  It is probably because I used blackberry applesauce but regular is great.

Does it look a little purple? It is probably because I used blackberry applesauce but regular is great.

Prepare as you would any other pancake batter.  I cook mine on my electric skillet set to 350 degrees or in a pan over medium heat.  Cook pancakes until bubbles form on the cake and flip, continue to cook about 1 minute more.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

9 responses »

  1. These have great Apple flavor. These need leavening. They were pretty dense and took longer to cook. And were not of pancake consistency. Add some baking powder and these are a winner. Only recipe with so much applesauce. Yum.

    Reply
  2. Pancake lover is right… the baking powder made a world of a difference! Great recipe though! I’ve been wanting to try and make a healthy alternative to box pancakes 🙂 God bless you and your picky eaters 😉

    Reply
  3. I made them for my grand-daughter who is a picky eater and she did like them. So did grandpa and grandma! I added a tsp. of baking powder and they were a winner.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Homemade Applesauce Pancakes |

  5. I too had to add baking powder in order to get some fluff or else they will be paper thin. Great flavor though.. thanks..

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Applesauce Pancakes Recipe | Free Delicious Italian Recipes | Simple Easy Recipes Online | Dessert Recipes

  7. These pancakes were amazing! I made them with 1 1/3 Tbs of baking soda and substituted 1/2 Tbs of agave nectar for the sugar. My husband, who doesn’t like to try new things, ate them so fast and went back for seconds. If I had told him what was in them he would have been so skeptical. So I just let him try them first. Then he asked “babe? What did you put in these? I mean….. They’re great!” This recipe will be saved for later use! Thanks!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

