RSS Feed

Carrot and Zucchini Cake

So I kept seeing Carrot and Zucchini Bars with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting | Real Mom Kitchen posted all over Pinterest.  Yes, I know I get a lot of ideas off of Pinterest.  I don’t go on there daily just occasionally.  I will just go back to me Eats I want to try board to come up with ideas when I am bored.

So I basically used the recipe but making a slightly healthier and more moist version.  We all loved it and I don’t even think it needs the lemon cream cheese frosting.  Not that I am turning down cream cheese frosting because it is my favorite.  I used my recipe for the frosting and added lemon zest as Real Mom Kitchen did.  The lemon flavor could be left out if you don’t care for the fresh zest of lemon.

My cake turned out super moist and much denser, probably because I added a lot more carrot.  Turns out I love my cake this way so it was fine with me.  I have never used honey as sweetener in a cake and I believe this impacted the moisture as well.  The cake almost was as moist as a bread pudding but not too wet to eat holding it in your hand.  Three cheers to a healthy ish cake!

carrot and zucchini cake bars

Carrot and Zucchini Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups carrots, shredded
  • 1 1/2 cup zucchini, shredded
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 4 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbs milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp lemon zest, optional
  • dash of salt

Mix together eggs, sugar, applesauce, honey and vanilla.  Once combined stir in carrots, zucchini, and nuts.

In a separate bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Stir into wet mixture until just combined.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13″ baking dish.  Pour cake into the pan and spread evenly.  Bake 25-35 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean of the center.

carrot and zucchini cake

Whip together frosting until smooth and fluffy, adding more milk if needed.  Spread over cool cake or pipe onto slices to make it fancy.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. KATHLEEN ELMER

    WILL TRY THIS SOON–GOODNESS KNOWS I HAVE LOTS OF CARROTS & ZUC!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

