RSS Feed

Cheesy Yellow Squash Casserole

Cheesy Yellow Squash CasseroleFor the life of me I have no idea where I discovered this tasty recipe.  I can remember making it and found the recipe card in my recipe box.  All that I know is I could eat the whole pan for dinner.  I serve this as a side to some good barbecued meat but you can easily eat this as a vegetarian dish.

Yellow squash is great sautéed which is my usual way to cook it.  It is so similar to zucchini without the versatility.  So when I came across this recipe I will hold on to it.  Cheese and Ritz crackers, how can you go wrong?

So, the first time I made this I sliced the squash and onions and Mr.Picky and the kids wouldn’t eat it.  With summer squash and zucchini I know it is a texture thing.  So a few years later I figured I would give it another try, but this time I grated both the squash and onion in the food processor.  This completely changed the whole texture to the dish almost making it into a gratin.  The original recipe also called for 1/4 cup melted butter which I accidentally left out, it still turned out great so I just removed it altogether from the recipe.  Might as well cut the extra fat.

Needless to say both kids had seconds and Mr.Picky ate all the leftovers the next day by wrapping it in a tortilla.  He didn’t care too much for it on its own, he thought it tasted like egg.  In a burrito though he thought is was a winner.  I over stuffed myself and was sad to see all the leftovers gone.

Cheesy Yellow Squash Casserole:Cheesy Yellow Squash Casserole

  • 4 cups yellow squash sliced or grated
  • 1/2 cup onion sliced or grated
  • 1 sleeve Ritz crackers, crushed
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp salt
  • pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbs butter

Prepare a 9 x 13″ ( if slicing squash) or a 9 x 9″ pan (if grating squash and onion) by greasing it lightly.

Place onion and squash in skillet over medium heat. Pour a small amount of water into the pan cover and cook until tender. Drain and place in large bowl.  Doesn’t take long if you have grated the squash.squash and onions

Mix crumbs and cheese in a separate bowl. Place half of cracker mix into squash.

Mix eggs milk together, then add to squash. Stir in salt and pepper.

Spread in 9×13″ pan sprinkle with remaining cracker mix. Dot with 2 TBS of butter.

Cheesy Yellow Squash Casserole

Bake for about 25 minutes in a 400 degree preheated oven.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. Now that looks really good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

