RSS Feed

Cottage Cheese Crescent Rolls

Cottage cheese crescent rolls is a recipe out of grandma’s recipe box.  Years ago I copied some recipes on  my recipe cards and put them into my box.  I recently found this recipe and it sounded interesting.  I have no recollection of Grandma making this or of eating these.  So why not try them.

How easy to mix it all and forget about it overnight.  Plus there are only three ingredients, it can’t get much easier than that. I baked them up the following evening to accompany our dinner.

Next time I might roll them out a bit thinner.  The directions were old and didn’t give a lot of guidance.  1/4 inch thickness would be about right next time.  I made only have a recipe and it made 16 rolls which seemed like plenty so I will keep the recipe adapted.  I also wasn’t sure if I mixed them enough because I could still see bits of cottage cheese.  Don’t worry the cottage cheese just melted away in the oven and no one would guess it was in there.

They had a great butter flavor and we found they tasted best with a bit of jam.  I would make these again for sure.  These rolls are pretty small but being loaded with butter probably is just right.

Cottage Cheese Crescent Rolls

Cottage Cheese Crescent Rolls:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cups flour
  • 6 oz. cottage cheese ( I used skim it was fine)

 

Mix all together (there will be little bits of cottage cheese it is ok) and refrigerate covered overnight.

Dough after chilling overnight

Dough after chilling overnight

Divide dough into half.

Roll each half as you would a pie crust and cut into 8 triangles as you would pie pieces, use a bit of flour if needed as you roll out to prevent sticking.

Rolling up the triangle pieces

Rolling up the triangle pieces

 

Roll each triangle starting with the big end up into a crescent roll shape.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

Bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Garlic Chicken | Feeding Mr.Picky Feeding Mr.Picky Caramelized Garlic Chicken Feeding Mr.Picky | Nothing to do but cook and take care of my family.

Leave a Reply

