RSS Feed

Basil Pesto Recipe

I used to think I disliked pesto.  Which really makes no sense because basil is my favorite herb, parmigiano-Reggiano is one of my favorite cheeses, and I use olive oil for everything.  I think it is the pine nuts which have never done anything for me.  After making my own pesto it was better than I remembered.

I just lessened the amount of pine nuts which was good because I only had about a cup on hand.  I also made a thicker pesto which olive could be added as needed.

After using half the pesto I put the rest in the freezer for a later date.  There are lots of great recipes calling for pesto out there.  Since the basil is in full swing in the garden I might as well make a few jars to store in the freezer.

 

Basil Pesto:Basil Pesto

  • 2 – 3 cups basil
  • 1 cup pine nuts
  • 1/2 – 1 cup olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup parmigiano-reggiano
  • lemon juice to taste

In a food processor combine all besides cheese and oil, process until combined.

Slowly add in olive oil until desired thickness is reached.

Add parmigiano-reggiano and either stir in by hand or pulse a few times.

Cover with plastic pressed against pesto and then sealed.  The less air reaching the pesto the less browning will occur.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Pesto Roasted Potatoes | Feeding Mr.Picky Feeding Mr.Picky Pesto Roasted Potatoes Feeding Mr.Picky | Nothing to do but cook and take care of my family.

Leave a Reply

