RSS Feed

Corn and Zucchini Fritters

Corn and Zucchini FrittersSummer time is fritter time as far as I am concerned.  Both corn and zucchini are ripening by the minute.  You have to use them before you lose them to fall.

I had fritters on my dinner menu for the week but paired with BBQ shrimp.  Well that flew out the window the other night when I tried to make gnocchi and the ricotta cheese was spoiled.  Since I already cracked the eggs and grated the zucchini we had fritters instead.  Turns out it is a new favorite of my children, my daughter especially loved them.  Even Mr.Picky is a big fan of corn and zucchini fritters.

As a child I remember getting so excited when I saw my mom making fritter sauce.  Corn was a favorite vegetable growing up and she made plain corn fritters which were eaten with in minutes.  The flavors are a memory and comfort of growing up to me.  I prefer to cook mine in a well seasoned cast iron pan like my mom did.  Don’t worry a non stick skillet will work.  I try to add as little butter as I can to the pan, just enough to help with sticking.

The fritter sauce is similar to thousand island (which I don’t care for) but much better.  Maybe it is because it is homemade.  The sauce completes these guys and they just don’t taste the same without it.  No one would want to eat a dry pancake, although the fritters are moister than pancakes.  Give it a try while you have zucchini out your ears.

Corn and Zucchini Fritters:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cup corn (about 2 ears)
  • 2 cups zucchini, grated
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  Add in milk and egg until smooth.

Fold in corn and zucchini until combined.Corn and Zucchini Fritters

Prepare a skillet over medium temperature, prepare fritters similar to pancakes.  A touch of butter in the pan and a 1/4 cup scoop of batter.  Cook about 2 minutes per side or until golden brown.

corn and zucchini fritters

Serve with fritter sauce to experience the whole flavor scale.

Fritter Sauce:Fritter Sauce

  • 1/3 cup mayo
  • 3 Tbs ketchup
  • 2 Tbs sweet relish
  • dash of tabasco
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1-2 Tbs onion, grated directly over bowl

Mix all together until combined.  Use to top your fritters!

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. THIS IS BETTER THAN MY RECIPE AND HAD NOT THOUGHT OF SAUCE. WILL TRY SOON.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

