RSS Feed

Sweet Pickle Relish

I use sweet relish frequently usually in my  tuna salad or on a hot dog which I love no matter how bad they are for you.  Lately I have been substituting bread and butter pickles chopped instead of relish in to my tuna salad, Mr.Picky in particular enjoys it this way.

So this year with the cucumbers from the garden I decided I would make a sweet/bread and butter relish.  I combined my bread and butter pickle recipe with a sweet pickle relish I found.  I just opened up the first jar and it tastes better than I imagined.  Why have I not made relish before?

Sweet Relish

Sweet Pickle Relish:

  •  4-5 seeded cucumbers, chopped finely
  • 2 cups onions,chopped finely
  • 1 cup green pepper, chopped finely
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 3 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbs celery seed
  • 1 Tbs mustard seed
  • 1/2 Tbs turmeric

I got 6 (1/2 pint) jars out of this recipe, give or take some.

Chop all vegetables as finely as you would like them.  Sprinkle with salt and cover with cold water.  Allow to sit for about 2 hours.  Rinse and drain well.

sweet relish

In a pan combine brine ingredients.  Bring to a boil and add vegetables.

Boil for 10 minutes.Sweet Relish

Using a slotted spoon place relish into clean jars, add some brine if you wish.

Process jars if you would like or store in refrigerator.  Process pints for 10 minutes in water bath.

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

2 responses »

  1. I made this with the last of my cucumbers from my garden. It turned out great! I had some left over and I pureed it to use as a burrito topping and it was delish! Thanks for this great idea Christa!! Uncle Michael love it!!—Aunt Debbie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

