RSS Feed

Whole Grain Waffles and Peaches

While peaches are fresh and fragrant I try to eat them as long as the season lasts.  I was given a few really ripe peaches.  I chopped them up with about 1 Tbs of sugar, after peeling them.  The container was ready in the fridge for whatever I had in mind.Fresh Peaches

My daughter is always suggesting waffles and pancakes for breakfast.  Whole Grain Waffles are at least healthy especially when you don’t serve them with syrup.  We feasted on waffles and fresh peaches.  They were amazing, in fact as I type this I feel the need to go make some more as a midnight snack.  Even Mr.Picky opted for no syrup.

I say mix up the syrup topping and trade it in for fruit.  Whether you have fresh peaches or frozen it will be a lot better than all that sugar to start the day.  Maybe some bananas and berries would be wonderful.  Grab a fork and dig in.  I know I have shared this recipe before for the waffles but it is so good it deserves a second go around.

Whole Grain Waffles and Fresh Peaches

Whole Grain Waffles:

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 3/4 cup milk (skim works fine)
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (or 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Mix eggs, milk, applesauce, and vanilla in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl combine remaining dry ingredients and whisk, or sift together.

Add dry mixture into egg mixture and stir until smooth but do not over mix.

Pour into a hot waffle iron and cook until golden brown.  Enjoy with the topping of your choice or eat them plain, I know my kids love the leftovers cold.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

