RSS Feed

Plum and Ginger Lime Jam

I look forward to the plums starting to fall on my in-laws tree.  Mostly I eat them fresh but with an abundance this year and not wanting any to go to waste I was searching for something to do with them.  Last year my Grandma canned them with the pits in and they were tasty.

Fresh Plums

My jam supply is running low and I never replenished the supply.  I thought there must be a good plum jam recipe.  Most were the same with nothing special and just gave quantities of sugar to plum.  I had just bought some fresh ginger root and thought to brighten my jam with ginger.

Most recipes required no pectin to set the jam.  Although I almost regret this because I didn’t feel the need to add so much sugar.  This led my jam to be more of a spread than a jam.  No matter what it is great and I have a cupboard full.

Plum and Ginger Lime Jam:

  • 10-15 cups plums, pitted with the skins on
  • 1 Tbs fresh ginger,grated
  • 1-2 limes, zested and juiced
  • 2-4 cups sugar

Combine all ingredients in a large pot.  Add 2 cups sugar to start and sweeten after tasting.

Plum and Ginger Lime Jam

Using an immersion blender, pulse the fruit and sugar together until desired smoothness.  The smoother you go the less skin you have floating around.

Cook on medium until simmer.  Simmer until mixture becomes thick almost like a honey consistency.

Pour in sterile jars and can in a water bath for about 10 minutes for half pints.

Plum and Ginger Lime Jam

 

A great site for canning instructions is delish.com, I know my instructions are really general.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

