RSS Feed

Sweet and Sour Roasted Root Vegetables

I came across this recipe in Cooking Light Annual Recipes 2004 cookbook it sounded great.  I love beets and to make it a meal I added sausage brats similar to lazy day casserole.  I also added some potatoes and onions.  Either way you can serve it as a side dish or as a meal.  I think it would be particularly wonderful with a roast.

My son ate it along with the two helpings I had, my daughter thought it was sour and just ate sausage.  Mr.Picky was preparing his own dinner that night.

I thought these wonderful root vegetable had a bright herb flavor.  In no way did I think they were sweet or sour tasting.  The only thing I would do different is to cut my beets up a bit smaller.  With the leftovers I created a big pot of borscht.

Sweet and Sour Root Vegetables

Sweet and Sour Roasted Root Vegetables:

  • 1 lb. small beets, trimmed, peeled, and cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 lb. parsnips, peeled and cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1 lb. carrots, peeled and cut into 2 inch pieces
  • 1 lb. potatoes, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3 Tbs cider vinegar
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 Tbs olive oil
  • 2 tsp coriander seeds, crushed
  • 2 tsp chopped fresh tarragon or 1/2 tsp dried tarragon
  • 6-10 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper

Sweet and Sour Root Vegetables

 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare a 9 x 13″ baking dish with a bit of cooking spray.

Steam the first three ingredients covered in a pan for about 5 minutes.

Place vegetables in the baking dish.

Combine maple syrup and vinegar in a dish and set aside.

In a dish squeeze juice from lemon, add spent lemon halves to the beet mixture.

To the dish of lemon juice add oil, coriander, and tarragon.

Pour over beet mixture and toss well.  Add thyme sprigs and season with salt and pepper.

Sweet and Sour Root Vegetables

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

Pour syrup mixture over the vegetables and toss to coat, return to the oven for an additional 30 minutes.

Discard lemon halves and serve hot.

*If you are wanting to add sausage like I did just brown brats in a pan during the first 30 minutes of cooking.  No need to cook them through.  Slice each sausage in half and place on top of the vegetables for the last 30 minutes in the oven.

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

