RSS Feed

Turkey Pumpkin Chili

I am a chili lover, especially if the chili is made with kidney beans.  Growing up my mom always made chili with kidney beans. To this day I swear I can eat chili breakfast, lunch, and dinner as long as it is homemade.  My mother’s chili is very similar but usually uses ground beef and omit the pumpkin and pumpkin spice.  Chili is so simple, versatile and forgiving, and is a one pot meal.  A slow cooker would work as well but as long as I am home I love to just simmer my soup in a dutch oven on the stove.

A few years ago I had come across a recipe that added pumpkin.  In the fall if I have any pumpkin in the freezer or extra from baking I make this chili.  The pumpkin purée added a depth and richness to the chili without a pumpkin flavor.

Of course chili can not be served without fresh cornbread.  Sour cream and cheddar cheese are optional.

Turkey Pumpkin Chili

Turkey Pumpkin Chili:

  • 1 package ground turkey breast (16-20 oz.)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 green pepper,diced
  • 1  cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 (15 oz.) cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 oz.) can petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 (26 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1 Tbs chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice or (1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp allspice)

Turkey Pumpkin Chili

In a large pot brown turkey, add in onion and garlic and sauté until fragrant.

Add remaining ingredients and bring up to simmer, continue to simmer on low for at least 1 hour.

Serve with cornbread, tortilla chips, or with some cheddar cheese.
//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. Thanks to my observant sister the recipe now contains pumpkin puree like it should.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

