RSS Feed

Coconut Cream Pie Bars

Coconut Cream Pie Bars were not an original idea but I hate to say I have had the recipe for a few years on an index card.  I have tweaked the recipe any ways and include my amazing Never Fail Pie Crust recipe.  The pan to this dessert will empty so quickly you might just want two pans.

After bringing this to an event a few years back my Grandpa fell in love.  For the last two years on his birthday he requests I bring coconut cream pie.  Making the coconut cream pie into bars feeds the whole family a lot easier than splitting up a pie.  So here I am again making this wonderful dessert for my Grandpa’s 90th birthday party.  I hope there are many more pies in your future Grandpa.

Coconut Cream Pie Bars

Coconut Cream Pie:

  • 1 prepared pie crust, I suggest half of my Never Fail Pie Crust
  • 1 large and 1 small box of instant vanilla pudding
  • 4 1/2 cup cold milk
  • 2 cups shredded coconut, divided
  • 1 (8 oz.) tub of cool-whip

Roll out pie dough into a rectangle large enough to fit a 9 x 13″ pan.

Crust will be covered and doesn't need to look perfect!

Crust will be covered and doesn’t need to look perfect!

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, until barely golden brown.  Allow to cool.

Combine instant pudding and cold milk, whisk for about 5 minutes until soft set.  Fold in 1 cup of coconut.

Pour pudding into prepared pie crust and allow to set for up for at least one hour.

Top with the tub of cool-whip.

Meanwhile toast the remaining cup of coconut on a sheet pan at 350 degrees for 2-4 minutes.  Until just golden, watch closely.

Sprinkle toasted coconut on top just before serving.

Coconut Cream Pie Bars

As you can see I did not watch my coconut as closely as usual.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

