RSS Feed

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Back in 2008 I was in the hospital for a week, it was first time I have ever been admitted to the hospital.  At no point did I have an appetite but I had to order breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Lucky for me I had a hunger husband who took advantage of this.  With every meal the hospital would bring huge packaged cookies from a local bakery.  Mr.Picky learned to write a request for their ginger cookies which he fell in love with.

After I had recovered and felt great I set out to find a recipe similar to prepare for Mr.Picky.  At this point I discovered Big Soft Ginger Cookies Recipe – Allrecipes.com.  I was simply making these for Mr.Picky because I didn’t think I cared for ginger cookies.  I am not a fan of crunchy cookies and to me that is the only way I had eaten ginger cookies.  When I brought one over to Grandma she called them molasses crinkles which they probably are.   Big Soft Ginger cookies changed my mind and I now enjoy these cookies at much as Mr.Picky.

The dough can be made at least a day ahead as long as the bowl is covered tightly with plastic wrap.  Get part of the work done ahead of time during the baking season.  When you are ready to bake continue with the directions.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies:Big Soft Ginger Cookies

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  •  1 Tbs water
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 Tbs white sugar

Sift or whisk together flour ,ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Set aside.

Cream together 1 cup sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg, and then add water and molasses.  Mix until combined.

Slowly add the sifted dry ingredients.  Mix until incorporated.

I believe this recipe works best if you have time to chill the dough for at least an hour.  If you don’t continue on.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Shape dough in walnut size balls and rolls them in the 2 Tbs of sugar.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Place balls about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet and flatten slightly with the bottom of a glass.

Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to wire rack.

Store in an airtight container.  Then hide them so you don’t have to share.

Iced Pumpkin Cookies and Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Iced Pumpkin Cookies and Big Soft Ginger Cookies

 

 

style=”display:inline-block;width:468px;height:60px”
data-ad-client=”ca-pub-3737982169142034″
data-ad-slot=”4657754308″>
//

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

