RSS Feed

Baked Ham & Swiss Sliders

The first time I had Hawaiian Ham & Swiss Sliders w/ Poppyseed Sauce – Saving Money Living Life my sister had made them at a birthday party.  Mr.Picky miss the party a few years ago and I knew he needed to try these sandwiches.  I have since made the recipe at least 3 times for dinner.  Whenever I buy a spiral ham and have extra to use up.

After the holiday season you can find spiral sliced ham incredible cheap, sometimes .99 cents a pound.  This is a great time to throw a few in the freezer for throughout the year, either whole or divided up.  If you don’t want to spend the money on a ham I am sure sliced deli ham would be tasty.

This is the best tasting ham sandwich I have ever had.  The kids love them, Mr.Picky loved them, and recently I had company who loved them.  They will please any crowd and can be made ahead without taking too long to bake.

Usually I use a sweet or plain dinner roll for these sliders.  After wanting to purchase these delicious pretzel rolls I had sampled I figured they would be tasty on them as well.  I prefer a sweet roll to the pretzel roll but I still ate two and leftovers for lunch, so no complaints here.  I felt the need for 1/2 cup butter in the original was unnecessary so I cut it in half with no problem.

Baked Ham and Swiss Sliders

Baked Ham and Swiss Sliders:

The rolls needed really depend on size.  I fill a 9 x 13″ glass baking dish with sandwiches smashing them in together, so however many it takes you will work.

  • 12 rolls
  • 24 pieces of ham (preferably leftover spiral sliced)
  • 12 small pieces of Swiss cheese
  • 1/3-1/2 cup mayonnaise

Topping:

  • 1 Tbs poppy seeds
  • 1 1/2 Tbs yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup butter,melted
  • 1 Tbs onion,finely minced
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Prepare sandwiches by spreading a bit of mayo on each side of roll.  Add two pieces of ham and one slice of swiss cheese followed by the top bun.

Place all sandwiches tightly together in a baking dish.

Whisk together all the ingredients for the toppings.  Evenly pour and spoon the topping on to the sandwiches.

Allow sandwiches to set for at least 10 minutes to soak up topping before baking.

Baked Ham and Swiss Sliders

Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes, uncover and bake for 2 minutes more until golden.

Baked Ham and Swiss Sliders

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

