RSS Feed

Buffalo Chip Cookies

Buffalo Chip CookiesAs a girl I remember my mom making Buffalo Chip cookies all the time.  In fact as I was making them she stopped by.  She mentioned that it had been many years since she had made them and that they are one of her favorite.

Years ago when I moved from my mother’s house I wrote copies of most of her recipes.  Some how this one was forgotten.   A few weeks ago I was looking through an old cookbook with my Grandma and we came across the original recipe.  It was typed and given to her along with a handwritten note.  The note read something like,” It was wonderful to visit with you in the pharmacy today here is a copy of the recipe I was telling you about.  I also attached a few extra to pass around”.

This note made me laugh and smile.  Something I admire most about my Grandma is how outgoing and friendly she is, not to mention we like to give her a hard time about knowing everyone.  I am sure you all have someone in their lives with similar traits.  I am lucky to inherit these friendly outgoing genes and enjoy visiting in long line anywhere.  Slow down and give a stranger a smile is the lesson here today, you never know what kind of recipe you could get out of it.

Usually I prefer a chewy gooey cookie.  This is one of the few exceptions, well almost they are still chewy but with some crunchy.  The crunch is not from the overdone cookie but the corn flakes.  It is a secret weapon that makes these cookies delicious.  I left out the nuts and coconut due to some picky guests but I really love it with the coconut added.

I made them for a larger group and had many requests for the recipe so here it is.

Buffalo Chip CookiesBuffalo Chip Cookies:

Recipe yields about 3 dozen large cookies

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup corn flakes
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch salt

Cream both sugars and butter until light and fluffy.  Add in eggs and vanilla until combined.

Meanwhile sift together flour, pinch of salt, baking soda, and baking powder.

Add flour mix to the butter mixture and add all remaining ingredients, mix until just combined.

Scoop on a cookie sheet and bake 350 degrees for 10-13 minutes.

Cool for 1-2 minutes on sheet before removing to wire rack.

Optional add ins:

3/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup coconut


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

Leave a Reply

