RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Caramel using Sweetened Condensed Milk

Well all I can say was making caramel using Slow Cooker Crockpot Caramel using Sweetened Condensed Milk has a learning curve to it.  I myself am not a caramel fan but this did turn out rather well.  For my birthday we decided on doing an ice cream sundae bar for guest.  I made a batch of homemade hot fudge and thought I should give one more option.  Caramel is Mr.Picky’s choice of syrup so I looked up the instructions and made us some caramel.

I went with the option of using my slow cooker.   I did not find it safe to have my stove going to two hours while I had a list of chores to do.  Don’t get me wrong this was simple to make, there are only two steps how do you go wrong?  Well apparently one of my jars did not seal tightly and after about 3 hours my water in the cooker was milky.  I dumped the water and started again after tightening the jar back down.  My timing took a bit longer but I think it was due to having to reheat the water.

Jar on left is frozen and the jar on right is from the fridge.

Jar on left is frozen and the jar on right is from the fridge.

In the end the results were worth it and now I have an extra jar frozen for future use.  I figured I might as well make two jars since I was going to have the slow cooker going all day anyway.  To reheat the caramel or soften it just microwave with the lid removed for less than 30 seconds or place the jar in a pot of hot water.

We ate the leftovers the next day with sliced apples.  It tasted better than the little tubs of caramel you can get for apples.  This recipe will serve a lot of purposes.

Caramel using Sweetened Condensed MilkCaramel using Sweetened Condensed Milk:

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 pint jar with lid and screw band

Pour the sweetened condensed milk in the jar and screw the lid tightly.

In a slow cooker place the jar(s) and cover with warm water.  Turn the temperature to low and cook about 8-8 1/2 hours, depending on how hot your slow cooker runs.

When the caramel in the jar looks the right color to you pull it out it is done.  Be careful the jar is hot, I suggest using tongs and placing the jar on a wood board or towel to cool enough to open.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

 

About feedingmrpicky

Nothing to do but take care of my family and cook.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Homemade Hot Fudge Sauce | Feeding Mr.Picky Feeding Mr.Picky Homemade Hot Fudge Sauce Feeding Mr.Picky | Nothing to do but cook and take care of my family.

Leave a Reply

